Hello again…

Sleepy Bear

It is harder than you'd think to find a good picture of a sleepy bear on the internet

*Yawn* *stretch* right then, shall we see if I remember how to do this blogging thing?

How have you done with your New Year’s Resolutions so far? Still hitting the gym every morning before work? Still avoiding that post-work glass of wine? Managing to eat more fruit and veg? Smoking less, or not at all? If you are well done, you’re certainly stronger willed than I am. I don’t usually go in for New Year’s Resolutions, because frankly I know I won’t stick to them. I certainly won’t stick to them in the two most depressing months of the year. After all the festive joy and socially sanctioned gluttony of December, January and the whole idea of New Year’s Resolutions feels like a cold hard slap in the face, and a bloated hungover face at that. So if you have managed it seriously congratulations, I don’t know how you’ve done it.

With all that said though, I did make one New Year’s Resolution this year; to blog more frequently, or frankly at all. My last blog post was in November so by New Year’s Day the cobwebs had already begun to gather. I vowed to myself that this year I would get my act together, find some self discipline and post regularly. And I really meant it; I was so determined I sat down in the first few days of January and wrote the first draft of this post. But I couldn’t post it. Oh no. I couldn’t post it because I knew if I posted it before I had a follow up post ready it would just sit there, and days, weeks and months would go by with my empty promise left unfulfilled. So I couldn’t post it, not until I’d written the next post to go up, which I’d definitely do this week, or next week. Definitely next week. And so on.

And now it’s nearing the end of February, and I haven’t posted anything in over four months; how shameful. Bad Becca, go and sit in the naughty corner* and think about what you’ve done, or not done in this case.

Finally though I’m back. Spring is approaching and it’s time to bring this blog out of hibernation and back to life. Hence the picture of the sleepy bear at the start of this post. Look at him, look how sleepy he is. You wouldn’t expect a bear to blog over winter when he’s just so sleepy would you? No, so you see I couldn’t possibly have done so either. Don’t look at me like that, the bear thing makes perfect sense.

It’s not that I haven’t been blogging at all though. One of the reasons I’ve been so lax here is that I started a new job interning with the charity FoodCycle. If you haven’t heard of them before I thoroughly urge you to check them out. They run Hubs across the UK where volunteers collect surplus food from their local supermarkets, farmers markets or other retailers, cook with it in unused kitchen spaces and turn it into nutritious and delicious meals for people in the community suffering from food poverty.

In my role there I’ve been managing their online presence, which means if you’ve spoken to them on Twitter or Facebook the chances are you were talking to me. So in the mean time while I get my act together writing up some proper posts for this blog, why not go and check out some posts I’ve written for them in the last few months:

*I seriously dread to think what unimagined horrors the “naughty corner” of the internet might hold

One response to “Hello again…

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Hello again… | How to Make a Mess -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

