Sweet Potato, Fennel and Feta Frittata

We now return you to your regularly scheduled programming…

Sweet Potato, Fennel and Feta Frittata

Well, May happened. May happened and I did almost no blogging, and the one post I did write doesn’t even really belong here. Terrible, I do apologise.

There have been a few exciting developments though. To celebrate my blog’s first birthday (erm, which was in early April, there’s a post about the past year somewhere in the back log, honest) I bought myself a domain! Okay so not that exciting for people who aren’t me, but for people who are me it’s a shiny new toy to play with…and procrastinate from blogging with. At the moment it’s just set up to redirect here while I figure out what I want to do with it and how I can do whatever it is that I decide I want to do with it. In the meantime I’ll try not to let it distract me from actually writing something and hopefully posting will once again become more regular.

For now, here’s a quick post about the frittata I took into work today. This was my contribution to a colleague’s fundraising drive for the Japanese disaster relief. She’d asked a different person each day, over two weeks, to bring in a dish to share and asked everyone who ate to donate a small sum in return. Of course I forgot that I’d signed up to bring something in today, until about 8:30pm last night. Cue me scouring the cupboards and making a mad dash to the shops.

I love frittatas and tortillas. I like to think of them as pastry-less quiches, which is something else I love. They all fall under that category of brilliantly simple, anything goes dishes that can change to reflect the seasons, your mood, or whatever you have lurking in the back of the fridge. My favourite kind of cooking.

This one pretty much came about for the last of the above reasons; I had sweet potatoes and I had fennel. I suspected the two would work together, and Google bolstered my suspicions. Both caramelised slightly in the pan, which gave the frittata a delicious sweetness. Of course a frittata is almost always improved, as many things are, by the addition of cheese. I’d originally planned to add ricotta, inspired by a recent post from Eat Like a Girl, but the local shops didn’t have any so some creamy feta was a great alternative.

Sweet Potato, Fennel and Feta Frittata

Serves 4-6 with some salad on the side

  • 2 Sweet potatoes
  • 1/2 large fennel bulb (or 1 small blub – mine just happened to be huge!)
  • 100g feta (1/2 a standard sized block)
  • 6 eggs
  • milk (at a guess 100ml, I just sloshed some in, how much is a “slosh”?)
  • 1 tbsp oil
  • salt & pepper

Peel the sweet potatoes and thinly slice into rounds about 5mm thickness. Halve the fennel if using a whole bulb, cut the core out and thinly slice this too. If you’re lucky enough to have some fronds on your fennel save these.

Preheat the grill to high. In a decent sized frying pan, ideally with a lid, heat the oil then add the potatoes. Move the potatoes around to coat them in oil, then cover with the lid. If you don’t have a lid you could use a plate, the seal doesn’t need to be perfect. Leave to cook on a gentle heat for about 5 minutes. After 5 minutes give the potatoes a bit of a stir and add the fennel, then cover and cook for another 5 minutes.

Beat the eggs together with the milk and season with a little salt and pepper. When the potatoes and fennel are ready pour over the eggs mix and give it all a gentle stir. Keep moving everything in the pan around a bit until the egg is almost set then crumble over the feta, pushing it down slightly into the nearly set egg. If you have any fennel fronds tear them up and scatter them over the top too.

Pop the pan under the hot grill for a few minutes until golden on top.

This is probably nicest warm, but it also makes a really tasty lunch cold the next day.

3 responses to “Sweet Potato, Fennel and Feta Frittata

  1. Hi Becca,
    I hope you don’t mind me posting but your frittata caught my attention as a possible entry for the easyJet Holidays tapas competition.
    By entering a unique and tasty tapas recipe you can win a 3 night break to Barcelona and this already looks perfect so it’ll be easy for you!
    The guidelines are on the competition webpage: http://holidays.easyjet.com/barcelona-restaurants.htm
    Feel free to email competitions@holidays.easyjet.com with any questions.
    Good luck and happy cooking!
    Steph

  2. I really like your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did
    you design this website yourself or did you hire someone to
    do it for you? Plz respond as I’m looking to create my own blog and would like to know where u got this from. thanks a lot

  3. I really like reading through an article that will make people think.

    Also, many thanks for permitting me to comment!

Leave a Reply

